[Translation + MV Story] Heterostasis (ヘテロスタシス)/ChroNoiR

Artist/ChroNoiR (KanaeKuzuha)
Music・lyrics/nulut (nuyuri)


“Let’s dance in our bare feet
Until there’s nothing left one day”
I say this nonsense as I put on
Music that’s trending right now


It’s surely too soon to have regrets,
We should simply laugh right now
Messing around, I take your hand
It makes me want to start running with no goal in mind

Not enough to maintain pre-established harmony,
I’m unable to fully remain an observer
We want to understand more
Shame, reputation, relations, lies —
Without regard for any of these

Don’t leave me behind, the times we fooled around
Don’t speak to me with words I don’t understand
Even if it’s just a little fragment of them,
Please show me some memories
“Don’t laugh with that kind of voice,”
I’m unable to say it again and again
Simply planted down in my seat,
I’m still in the process of resisting


Even if we sprawl out on the ground in exhaustion,
A revelation won’t just befall us
“What if we just left everything and went somewhere far?”
Words I don’t mean spilling out of my mouth

Everyone’s surely being held captive still
It makes me feel so empty, I want to scream
I’m surely not enough
Dreams, idolisations, sentences, our time —
While still unable to bear the weight of these

As I chase after it, it feels like it’s about to fly away
Repeating the process of thinking and then making mistakes
Please, I want you to show me
A clumsy yet enjoyable lie
“I can’t possibly laugh over something like that”
Until the day I can talk about it while laughing
The things I can’t say growing within me,
I’m still in the process of resisting

I stopped fighting
I rebelled over and over again
I slipped into the gap in the middle
I stopped fighting
I rebelled over and over again
I slipped into the gap in the middle

By the time I realised, it had become nighttime with you
It had become a night like in a memory
I’m not lacking a single thing
I’m not…

Don’t leave me behind, the times we fooled around
Don’t speak to me with words I don’t understand
Even if it’s just a little fragment of them,
Please show me some memories
If you’re unable to laugh at anything anymore,
If you’re sick and tired of everything
Why don’t we try our hand at something like world domination?
But we’re still…
We’re still in the process of resisting


(0:00)
“So, vampires really are immortal, huh?”
The man smiling faintly in my arms is slowly being dyed in a shade of crimson. He talks so as to reassure me, but I know it’s hard for him to even breathe. His words only make it hurt more.
Though I’ve taken just as much damage as he has, my wounds have already begun to heal; I wonder why this fact irritates me.

“Please…don’t talk anymore.”
My hoarse voice disappears into the empty void that is this world. The man tries to say something in response, but he can no longer even speak. My hands start to overflow with blood, and I sense that this is the end.
“……na…e.”
I thought I was used to seeing people die. But this — this alone — is like a curse to me.
How many times do I have to watch your demise before I’m forgiven?

“Don’t cry so much…it’s not like you,”
As the man stands up, still drenched in blood, there are large white wings unfurling from his back.
The blood that had been all over my hands is now fading away. His body is healing, and at a rate even higher than mine.
A supernatural being. An “angel,” like this man has been jokingly been referred to so many times. Is he an angel? Or a fallen angel?
No, that’s not important right now.
“I think I can finally be your partner now, ⬜︎⬜︎⬜︎⬜︎⬜︎⬜︎.”
“…Even though we’re the only ones left in this world?”
To think he would awaken to something like this at the end of the world. Is this a game? But I suppose it’s not unlike ⬜︎⬜︎⬜︎⬜︎⬜︎.
“We’re the only ones that are still alive.”
“Ah, I guess they do say that just being alive is praiseworthy.”
“Even I didn’t expect that we’d be able to say something like that in this situation.”
Standing among dark ashes and ruins, we laugh. And, just like the first time I reached out to him, we put our hands in each other’s.

There is not a single trace of despair in us.


(0:04)
[Prologue:The Story of Us]
“Do you really believe that even this poorly-written story is real?”


(1:00)
[conversation history:1]
“……Hey, partner. You alright on food supply? Over.”
“Food? It’s not really hard to find food in this city… Over.”
“No, that’s not what I mean.”
“Ah…you should already know I don’t need ‘that’ anymore.”
“Putting up a strong front, are you? You’ll die as soon as we’re in battle if you don’t at least replenish a little bit.”
“Lately even the bots have just been enjoying their peace, you know that. Besides, is this world even programmed to include things like death?”
“…Hehe, I guess I couldn’t fool you.”
“I won’t be fooled that easily… GG.”

“But still, let me know whenever. I’ll be there as soon as I can.”


(1:14)
[conversation history:2]
“Well, I don’t actually need anything, but…”
“Over?”
“Why don’t we stop with this act? I know you’re not actually using a transceiver.”
“Don’t say such unromantic things. Things are more atmospheric this way, right?”
“Is this really about atmosphere?”
“Yep, that’s right. Atmosphere should always be the first thing you consider. We’ve got to enjoy what we can.”
“…Even if this is a virtual world?”
“That’s precisely why.”
“Well, I guess I don’t dislike stuff like that.”
“Should we meet up sometime? It’s been a while. We can play something together.”
“CNR offline collab.”
“Let’s order pizza later too. Of course our greeting will be—”

“”Otsunoir.””


(1:57)
[conversation history:3]
“Ah, sorry I couldn’t answer your call just now.”
“What the hell is this…! Over!!”
“Eh? What do you mean?~”
“…You sure seem like you’re having fun. You obviously know what I’’m talking about.”
“Of course I’m having fun. It’s nostalgic, isn’t it? This music video, I mean. Are you watching it too?”
“Well, yeah, I’m watching it… Considering that it’s plastered all over the screens in the city, I’d have to watch it even if I didn’t want to.”
“I thought us becoming idols was a joke but now that I’m looking at it, we’re pretty cool aren’t we?”
“It’s all thanks to the cool stuff we’re wearing. I was looking forward to our next costume too.”
“Me too. Ah, this footage is from the photo shoot we had right before we came here. I really wish we could’ve released our new song…”
“Well, our new song is being played all over the streets now. I’m surprised you even had the data still.”
“It’s important to me. This is the one thing I had to protect until the end.”
“…I see.”


(2:08)
“Someday. Someday in the future. I want to sing with you again.”

Leave a comment